Wikileaks: Exclusive Interview with Investigations Editor Sarah Harrison

Sarah Harrison

Wikileaks: Exclusive Interview with Investigations Editor Sarah Harrison


In this exclusive interview with Wikileaks investigations editor, Sarah Harrison, we talk about the case of Julian Assange, the findings of the UN working group on arbitrary detention, national security, international law and how one can support whistleblowers.

These questions and many more are addressed in the following video:

  • In what state and condition is Julian Assange living in the Ecuadorian embassy?
  • How come Sweden & the UK are dismissing the findings of the UN Working Group on Arbitrary Detention?
  • Are there any facts that prove that the US is seeking to extradite Julian Assange for espionage and other charges?
  • How does the Nuremberg Charter & international law play into all of this?

VIDEO: Interview with Wikileaks Investigations Editor – Sarah Harrison


Notable quotes from the interview:

Sarah Harrison about the state and condition of Julian Assange in the Ecuadorian embassy:

Well he stays very strong. He focuses on his work a lot and with his type of personality and work ethic this keeps him very busy and keeps him going. We have a lot of good publications coming up this year, so yea, that definitely keeps him busy. There have been some interesting wins in his legal case this year, for example, the United Nations ruled that his attention arbitrary and that United Kingdom and Sweden should release him immediately. Sadly, those countries are not actually following the United Nations judgement but it is still a positive move forward in his case.

Sarah Harrison about the dismissal of the UN Working Group on Arbitrary Detention:

Well Julian actually has asylum due to the threat of the United States. There is a very secret grand jury that is going on that is unprecedented in scale and nature and the largest investigation into a publisher ever. This continues until this day, it’s been going since 2010 and it is for this threat that he has asylum. Obviously as if we’ve seen in a number of situations the UK & the US are very close politically and there is the case with Julian has been highly politicized. So it is within that realm understandable that the UK [are] upset the United Nations are trying to ensure that they follow the rule of law in this case. It is very sad to me as a British citizen that our MPs can stand there and say that the United Nations is ridiculous. To me that is just sad and shows how much we have diverted from the rule of law in our supposed Western democracies.

Sarah Harrison about facts of US attempts to extradite Julian Assange:

A number of documents come out in a variety of ways some through hard Freedom of Information Act cases within the US. One came out interestingly couple of years ago that was subpoenas to Google for emails of a number of Wikileaks staff including myself. This was my personal Google account that I hadn’t used for quite a number of years… but when.. we were allowed to be told about this subpoena, we were given documentation on this and this showed the legal charges, the criminal codes the US government had to use to get this subpoena. And yes as you say, this included the Espionage Act, Computer Fraud and Abuse Act, Conspiracy and a number of others

Sarah Harrison about what role the Nueremberg Charta & international law play:

I think that it is clear to many people that the actions of Manning, Snowden, Assange are actually to do with not only higher ethic but actually within the rule of law, particularly when it comes to Edward Snowden and the US constitution – he has actually just been upholding that with his actions.

To read the full transcript, Click here.

To see more of our work with whistleblowers & investigative journalists, click here.


Recommended Video: “First they came for Julian Assange”


Donate today to support independent & non-profit journalism!

Click here or on the picture below.

Banner Spende Webseite_E


About Sarah Harrison:

Sarah HarrisonSarah Harrison is a British Journalist, Investigation Editor at Wikileaks and the director of the Courage Foundation. She played a decisive role in accompanying NSA Whistleblower Edward Snowden from Hong Kong to Moscow when the highly classified NSA documents were released in 2013.

 


Investigative & Whistleblower projects that require your support!

Edward Snowden, Noam Chomsky & Glenn Greenwald
Edward Snowden, Noam Chomsky, Glenn Greenwald

acTVism Munich plans to continue translating the event organized by the University of Arizona, “A Conversation to Privacy” that hosted Edward Snowden, Glenn Greenwald and Noam Chomsky. We Munich believe that privacy is a central ingredient to democracy and creating awareness on it on a global scale is of utmost importance for the future of human freedom and liberty. We will also continue to translate an event organized by the New York Public Library (NYPL) that hosted Yanis Varoufakis and Noam Chomsky. This event took place on the 26th of April, 2016, and focused, amongst other issues, on the state of European democracy; the underlying problems confronting it and the solutions required for meaningful change.

Saal_der_Bundespressekonferenz
Federal Press Conference in Berlin

Secondly, acTVism Munich will gain full access to the German Federal Press Conference in Berlin starting late August. This will provide us an opportunity to pose critical questions directly to the German government which will foster awareness on a host of issues seldom discussed in the mainstream media. The attempt is to translate and synchronize the Q&As into English as well.

We lack technical and financial resources to translate the events and press conference mentioned above. Furthermore, we will only be able to attend the press conference once every 3 months due to the high costs of travelling and lodging.

Edward Snowden on acTVism Munich
NSA-Whistleblower Edward Snowden

Lastly, acTVism Munich received Edward Snowden’s confirmation on his participation in a future event known as “Freedom & Democracy: Global Issues – Connecting the Dots”. In this event we plan to bring leading experts together to discuss the connections between various issues and reveal the system at work. We believe that we can only arrive at viable solutions by increasing public awareness of the principal and structural faults of our system. More details to this event will follow in August.

We lack the necessary financial and technical resources to execute the projects, trips and events mentioned above. Since we are a non-profit and independent media outlet that has a strict policy against accepting advertisements, government or corporate support – we depend only on you, the public.

These projects depend only on you – please support us today by donating via PayPal or Bank transfer by clicking here!


RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
http://www.actvism.org/en/latest/interview-sarah-harrison-wikileaks/
Email
SHARE

Wikileaks: Exklusivinterview mit Investigativ-Redakteurin Sarah Harrison

Sarah Harrison

Wikileaks: Exklusivinterview mit Investigativ-Redakteurin Sarah Harrison


In diesem exklusiven Interview mit WikiLeaks-Investigativ-Redakteurin Sarah Harrison, das wir im Juni in der Volksbühne Berlin geführt haben, reden wir über den Fall Julian Assange, die Ergebnisse der UN-Arbeitsgruppe für willkürliche Inhaftierungen, nationale Sicherheit, internationales Recht und auf welche Weise Whistleblower unterstützt werden können.

Diese und andere Fragen werden im folgenden Video behandelt:

  • Unter welchen Umständen lebt und in welchen Zustand befindet sich Julian Assange in der ecuadorianischen Botschaft?
  • Wieso werden die Ergebnisse der UN-Arbeitsgruppe für willkürliche Inhaftierungen von Schweden und Großbritannien zurückgewiesen?
  • Gibt es Fakten darüber, dass die USA Julian Assange aufgrund von Spionage und anderen Anklagepunkten ausliefern wollen?
  • Welche Rolle spielen die Nürnberger Charta und internationales Recht in dieser Sache?

VIDEO: Interview mit WikiLeaks-Investigativ-Redakteurin Sarah Harrison


Auszüge aus dem Video:

Sarah Harrison über den Zustand von Julian Assange in der ecuadorianischen Botschaft:

Er hält durch, konzentriert sich sehr auf seine Arbeit. Seine Persönlichkeit und seine Arbeitsethik halten ihn auf Trab. Wir haben viele gute Veröffentlichungen für dieses Jahr geplant, er hat also definitiv zu tun. Dieses Jahr wurden auch einige interessante Erfolge in seinem Prozess erzielt. Zum Beispiel haben die Vereinten Nationen entschieden, dass sein Arrest willkürlich ist und das Vereinte Königreich und Schweden ihn unverzüglich gehen lassen sollten. Bedauerlicherweise folgen diese Länder nicht dem Urteil der Vereinten Nationen, aber es ist trotzdem ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung seines Prozesses.

Sarah Harrison über das zurückweisen der UN-Arbeitsgruppe für willkürliche Inhaftierungen:

Nun, Julian hat ja aufgrund seiner Bedrohung durch die USA Asyl, einer Bedrohung durch eine streng geheime Grand Jury, die in diesem Ausmaß noch nie dagewesen ist und die größte Ermittlung aller Zeiten gegen einen Veröffentlicher darstellt. Sie dauert seit 2010 bis heute an und ist der Grund für sein Asyl. Die USA und Großbritannien stehen sich politisch offensichtlich sehr nah, was wir schon in mehreren Situationen gesehen haben, und da ist der Fall mit Julian, der sehr stark politisiert wurde. Es ist also nachvollziehbar, dass es Großbritannien verärgert, dass die Vereinten Nationen versuchen sicherzustellen, dass sie in diesem Fall der Rechtsstaatlichkeit folgen. Für mich als Britin ist es sehr traurig, dass unsere Abgeordneten dastehen und sagen können, dass die Vereinten Nationen lächerlich sind. Für mich ist das einfach nur traurig und zeigt, wie viel wir in unseren angeblichen westlichen Demokratien vom Rechtsgrundsatz abgekommen sind.

Sarah Harrison über Fakten im Fall Julian Assange:

Verschiedene Dokumente kommen durch eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten heraus, manche davon durch hart erkämpfte Informationsfreiheitsgesetz-Fälle in den USA. Eines kam interessanterweise vor ein paar Jahren heraus, über die Gerichtsanordnungen, die Google aufgrund von Email-Konten einiger WikiLeaks Mitarbeiter erhielt, zu denen auch ich gehörte. Das war mein persönliches Google-Konto, dass ich seit Jahren nicht mehr genutzt habe. Als wir über die Anordnungen aufgeklärt werden durften, wurden uns Dokumente gegeben, die die Strafanzeigen und die strafrechtlichen Rechtfertigungen, die von der US-Regierung zum Erhalt dieser Anordnungen verwendet werden mussten. Und ja, wie Sie sagen, zählten der “Espionage Act”, der “Computer Fraud and Abuse Act”, der Vorwurf der Verschwörung und einige andere zu diesen Rechtfertigungen.

Sarah Harrison über die Rolle der Nürnberg Charta & Internationales Recht:

Ich denke, dass vielen Menschen klar ist, dass die Handlungen von Manning, Snowden, Assange nicht nur mit Moral zu tun haben, sondern in der Tat rechtsstaatlich sind, vor allem in Bezug auf Edward Snowden und die US Verfassung – er hat diese mit seinen Handlungen tatsächlich nur gewahrt.


Um die gesamte Abschrift des Videos zu lesen, klicken Sie hier.

Um unsere Arbeit mit Whistleblowern und investigativen Journalisten einzusehen, klicken Sie hier.


Empfohlenes acTVism Munich Video: “Zuerst holten sie sich Assange” 


Spenden Sie, um unabhängigen und gemeinnützigen Journalismus zu unterstützen!

Klicken Sie hier oder auf das Bild.

Banner Spende Webseite_D


Über Sarah Harrison:

Sarah HarrisonSarah Harrison ist eine britische Journalistin, investigative Redakteurin für WikiLeaks und Leiterin der „Courage Foundation“. Sie spielte eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Begleitung Edward Snowdens von Hongkong nach Moskau nach dem Leak der streng geheimen Dokumente in 2013.


Investigative & Whistleblower-Projekte, die Ihre Unterstützung benötigen!

Noam Chomsky, Glenn Greenwald und Edward Snowden.
Noam Chomsky, Glenn Greenwald und Edward Snowden

acTVism Munich plant weitere Teile des Events „A Conversation on Privacy“ mit Edward Snowden, Glenn Greenwald und Noam Chomsky zu übersetzen. acTVism Munich glaubt, dass die Privatsphäre von zentraler Wichtigkeit für die Demokratie ist und eine Herstellung einer breiten und globalen Informationsdichte von größter Bedeutung für die Zukunft der Freiheit ist. Außerdem konnte acTVism Munich ehrenamtliche Helfer in New York mobilisieren, um ein Event mit Yanis Varoufakis und Noam Chomsky aufzunehmen, welches von der „New York Public Library“ (NYPL) organisiert wurde. Dieser Event fand am 26. April 2016 statt, besprochen wurden unter anderem der Stand der Demokratie in Europa sowie die drohenden ökonomischen und sozialen Probleme für Europa.

Saal_der_Bundespressekonferenz
Saal der Bundespressekonferenz

Daneben wird acTVism Munich Ende August Zugang zur Bundespressekonferenz in Berlin bekommen. Dies wird uns die Möglichkeit geben, kritische Fragen direkt an die deutsche Regierung zu stellen und dadurch Bewusstsein für eine ganze Bandbreite an Themen herzustellen, die in den deutschen Massenmedien üblicherweise nicht behandelt werden. Wir werden versuchen, alle Fragen und Antworten ins Deutsche zu übersetzen und zu synchronisieren.

Edward Snowden on acTVism Munich
NSA-Whistleblower Edward Snowden

Außerdem: Der NSA-Whistleblower Edward Snowden bestätigte seine Teilnahme via Video-Konferenz für das kommende acTVism Munich Event „Freedom and Democracy: Global Issues Connecting the Dots” im Muffatwerk in München. Für diesen Event wollen wir führende Experten zusammenbringen, um die Verbindungen zwischen unterschiedlichen Problemen zu diskutieren, und zu erörtern, wie das System funktioniert. Wir glauben, dass wir nur zu brauchbaren Lösungen kommen können, wenn die Öffentlichkeit über die prinzipiellen und strukturellen Fehler des Systems informiert wird. Weitere Informationen folgen bald!

Bedauerlicherweise hat acTVism Munich nur sehr begrenzte Ressourcen und benötigt Ihre Hilfe, um diese Projekte zeitnah zu realisieren. Anfallende Kosten für Anreise, Unterbringung, Verpflegung, Produktion und Übersetzung erschweren die Verwirklichung. Als unabhängige gemeinnützige Medienorganisation mit einer strengen Haltung gegenüber Werbung und Unterstützung durch Regierungen und Konzerne sind wir auf Ihre Hilfe angewiesen. Unterstützen Sie uns. Klicken Sie hier.


RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
http://www.actvism.org/latest/interview-sarah-harrison-wikileaks/
Email
SHARE