ABOUT US


actvism_logo


acTVism Munich e.V.

  • acTVism Munich is a non-profit, independent and grassroots online media portal in both German and English languages.
  • acTVism Munich produces video reports, organizes roundtable discussions and debates, translates English articles into German and publishes guest articles in order to share information and news about topics of societal importance.
  • acTVism Munich provides a platform to investigative journalists, academics, analysts, activists, artists or concerned and engaged people.
  • acTVism Munich aims to finance itself mainly through donations and membership fees. Government support programmes and donations from foundations or companies are only accepted if they do not impair the independence of the association.
  • acTVism Munich is a tax-exempt, non-profit organization situated in Munich. Donations are tax-deductable in Germany only.

If you want to find out more about our organization, please view this video (You can activiate English subtitles from the settings in YouTube):


History

2013: Zain Raza introduces on social media the idea of an independent media outlet based on the principles of citizen journalism and activism. The idea spreads quickly throughout social media. The platform’s founding principles were discussed and agreed upon in a first unofficial members meeting.

2014: Roundtable discussions took place and acTVism’s first interviews were published with the likes of Pulitzer Prize winning journalists Glenn Greenwald and Chris Hedges through social media. Our first video reports on political events and demonstrations were produced as well. acTVism Munich e.V. (non-profit) was founded with 17 members at the first official meeting in the fall of that year. The organization also opened its first non-commercial bank account at GLS Bank.

2015: acTVism’s official website was launched at www.acTVism.org. Our first major event was held at Muffatwerk in Munich with linguist Noam Chomsky, former MI5 agent Annie Machon and Paul Jay, founder of The Real News Network. We co-organized the Sam Adams Award with Edward Snowden in Berlin. Further videos and interviews from that year included Jürgen Todenhöfer, Abby Martin, Vijay Prashad, William Binney as well as James Gailbraith. Our second event was about Germany’s international role, again at Muffatwerk, with Heiner Flassbeck and Noam Chomsky.

2016: acTVism held exclusive interviews with former Greek finance minister Yanis Varoufakis and Wikileaks investigative editor Sarah Harrison as well as reporting the launch of the Democracy in Europe 2025 (DiEM25) movement in Berlin. More video reports included the STOP-TTIP Demonstrations in Berlin and Hannover as well as interviews with Hans-Christian Ströbele, Katja Kipping, Gesine Schwan, Ernst Wolff and other renowned experts.

2017: To start the year, acTVism hosted its largest event to date under the title “Freedom & Democracy: Global Issues in Context” to a full house that included 650 guests at the Muffatwerk in Munich. The panel included Edward Snowden, Jürgen Todenhöfer, Jeremy Scahill, Richard D. Wolff, Paul Jay and Srećko Horvat. Circa 53,000 people streamed the event and 900,000 viewed the publications thereafter in German & English on YouTube. In order to foster understanding of elementary definitions, concepts and historical events an educational video series known as “Know Your Stuff” was launched. Richard D. Wolff, Dr. Daniele Ganser, Medea Benjamin, Dr. Peter Seyferth, Ernst Wolff  and other experts participated in this series.In order to foster democratic understanding and participation for the German election season, acTVism Munich collaborated with Mehr Demokratie e.V. to produce a video series known as “Perspectives of Democracy” that hosted, amongst other experts, Gerald Hüther und Yanis Varoufakis. Additionally, a new video format was introduced called “The Spark” that introduces and promotes local non-profit and grassroots organization that are focused on improving the state of our society and environment.  Organizations that have participated in this format include Fossil Free Munich, One World Art Connection, the Munich Peace Movement and Mehr Demokratie.

2018: acTVism undertook many exclusive interviews with international guests such as Yanis Varoufakis, Aaron Mate, Paul Jay, Dr. Michael Shermer, Medea Benjamin, Prof. Léonce Ndikumana, Prof. Richard D. Wolff, Prof. Stephanie Kelton, Prof. Lawrence Wilkerson , etc. Local experts included Prof. Dr. Gerald Hüther, Dr. phil. Peter Seyferth and Kerem Schamberger. Furthermore acTVism hosted the second part of its event series called “Freedom & Democracy: Global Issues in Context” with Pulitzer Prize winning journalist and publisher of the Snowden NSA-leaks, Glenn Greenwald, independent journalist, artist and activist, Abby Martin, and the Presidential candidate of the Green Party (2016), Jill Stein. The event reached circa 150.000 people on YouTube and hundreds of guests were live in attendance. Exclusive translations of external international content into the German language included Prof. Noam Chomsky, Pentagon Whistleblower Daniel Ellsberg, former CIA-Analyst John Nixon, US-Senator Bernie Sanders and the best selling author, Max Blumenthal. Reports were produced on the annual demonstration against the so called “Security Conference” in Munich and the Democracy in Europe Movement 2025 in Berlin. A diverse range of non-profit, grassroots and local organizations and initiatives were given a voice and they included Human Connection, Fakeodernews, Shifthappens, Abgeordnetenwatch.de, Spreadwords.org, Kontext TV, Sanktionsfrei e.V., Green City e.V., Institut für sozial-ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung e.V., Netzwerk Klimaherbst e.V., Oxfam Deutschland and Gemeinsam für Menschenrechte und Demokratie.

Compilation of the most prominent acTVism Videos

A Summary of our Event “Global Issues in Context”

Classification of Interviews & Videos according to Field


Mission

  • To provide everyone with freely accessible and comprehensive information
  • To promote societal decision-making processes by enlightening and informing the public
  • To strengthen independent media as a whole with a focus on inter-organizational cooperation
  • To implement cooperative structures

Vision

  • Become a multilingual online medium
  • Present a plurality of perspectives
  • Undertake investigative projects
  • Build worldwide networks
  • Deliver news on a daily basis
  • Strengthen focus on arts and culture
  • Guarantee financial independence

ÜBER UNS


actvism_logo


acTVism Munich e.V.

  • acTVism Munich ist ein gemeinnütziges und unabhängiges Onlinemedium in deutscher und englischer Sprache.
  • acTVism Munich produziert Videoberichte, organisiert Podiumsdiskussionen und Debatten, übersetzt englische Artikel ins Deutsche und veröffentlicht Gastbeiträge, um die Öffentlichkeit zu informieren und Nachrichten zu Themen von gesellschaftlicher Bedeutung bereitzustellen.
  • acTVism Munich bietet investigativen Journalisten, Akademikern, Analysten, Aktivisten, Künstlern oder betroffenen und engagierten Menschen eine Plattform.
  • acTVism Munich hat zum Ziel sich überwiegend durch Spenden und Mitgliedsbeiträge zu finanzieren. Staatliche Förderprogramme sowie Zuwendungen von Stiftungen oder Unternehmen werden nur angenommen, wenn sie die Unabhängigkeit des Vereins nicht beeinträchtigen.
  • acTVism Munich ist ein rechtsfähiger Verein mit Sitz in München.

Wenn Sie mehr über unser Team, unsere Geschichte und unsere Vision erfahren möchten, schauen Sie sich dieses kurze Video an (deutsche Untertiteln):


Geschichte

2013 hat Zain Raza auf sozialen Medien die Idee einer Plattform für unabhängigen Bürgerjournalismus vorgestellt. Die Idee wurde in Gruppen diskutiert, bei einer ersten inoffiziellen Mitgliederversammlung konkretisiert und die Zielsetzung einer gemeinnützigen Vereinsgründung besprochen.

2014 fanden Gesprächsrunden, Diskussionen und erste Veröffentlichungen von Interviews über soziale Medien statt, unter anderem mit den Pulitzer-Preisträgern Glenn Greenwald und Chris Hedges. Darauf folgte die Vereinsgründung von acTVism Munich e.V. mit 17 Mitgliedern und eine erste offizielle Versammlung. Bei der GLS-Bank wurde ein gemeinnütziges Geschäftskonto eröffnet und mit der Produktion erster Videoberichte zu politischen Veranstaltungen und Demonstrationen begonnen.

2015 launchte die Webseite www.acTVism.org. Erstes Event über Whistleblowing im Muffatwerk München mit Noam Chomsky, Linguist und Philosoph, Annie Machon, ehemalige MI5-Agentin und Paul Jay, Gründer von The Real News Network. Mitorganisation des Sam Adams Award mit Edward Snowden in Berlin. Weitere Videos und Interviews mit Jürgen Todenhöfer, Abby Martin, Vijay Prashad, William Binney und James Gailbraith folgten. Zweites Event im Muffatwerk über die internationale Rolle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland mit Heiner Flassbeck und Noam Chomsky. Produktion weiterer Videoberichte zu Veranstaltungen wie der Stopp-TTIP-Demonstration in München.

2016 wurden exklusive Interviews mit Yanis Varoufakis, ehemaliger griechischer Finanzminister, und Sarah Harrison, investigative Redakteurin bei Wikileaks, geführt.. Reportage über die Vorstellung der Bewegung DiEM 25 in Berlin. Weitere Videoreportagen von Großveranstaltungen, wie den Stopp-TTIP-Demonstrationen in Berlin oder Hannover und Interviews mit Hans-Christian Ströbele, Katja Kipping, Gesine Schwan, Ernst Wolff sowie weiteren namhaften Experten.

2017 veranstaltete acTVism Munich zu Beginn des Jahres die bisher größte Veranstaltung des Vereins unter dem Titel „Freiheit & Demokratie – globale Themen im Kontext“ mit 650 anwesenden Gästen im ausverkauften Muffatwerk in München. Das Event mit Edward Snowden, Jürgen Todenhöfer, Jeremy Scahill, Richard D. Wolff, Paul Jay und Srećko Horvat erreichte online rund 53.000 Zuschauer und über YouTube allein 900.000 Menschen. Darüber hinaus startete die Produktion von “Kenn Dich Aus”, einer Videoreihe mit Ernst Wolff, Dr. Peter Seyferth, Prof. Richard D. Wolff und Dr. Daniele Ganser sowie weiteren Experten, die essentielles Grundwissen zu Themen und Ereignissen von gesellschaftlicher Relevanz bietet. Zur Bundestagswahl wurde eine Kollaboration mit Mehr Demokratie e.V. initiiert, an der sich einige Experten, u.a. Gerald Hüther und Yanis Varoufakis beteiligten um über die Bedeutung und Relevanz von Demokratie und sozialem Engagement zu sprechen. Zudem wurde ein neues Video-Format eingeführt, das sich lokalen Vereinen widmet, die sich Tag für Tag für eine bessere Welt einsetzen. Im Rahmen dieser Serie wurden u.a. Fossil Free München, One World Art Connection e.V., Mehr Demokratie e.V. und die Münchner Friedensbewegung vorgestellt.

2018 wurden viele exklusive Interviews mit internationalen Gästen wie Yanis Varoufakis, Aaron Mate, Paul Jay, Dr. Michael Shermer, Medea Benjamin, Prof. Léonce Ndikumana, Prof. Richard D. Wolff, Prof. Stephanie Kelton, Prof. Lawrence Wilkerson und weiteren Fachleuten geführt. Deutschsprachige Experten waren Prof. Dr. Gerald Hüther, Reiner Braun, Dr. phil. Peter Seyferth und Kerem Schamberger. Darüber hinaus veranstaltete acTVism Munich im Muffatwerk München den 2. Teil seiner Eventserie „Freiheit & Demokratie – globale Themen im Kontext“ mit dem Pulitzerpreis-Gewinner und Herausgeber der Snowden-Dokumente Glenn Greenwald, der unabhängigen Journalistin, Künstlerin und Aktivistin Abby Martin, sowie der Präsidentschaftskandidatin der Green Party USA, Jill Stein. Das Event erreichte online via YouTube 150.000 Menschen. Exklusive Übersetzungen externer Inhalte schließen Beiträge von Prof. Noam Chomsky, Pentagon-Whistleblower Daniel Ellsberg, den ehemaligen CIA-Analysten John Nixon, US-Senator Bernie Sanders und den Bestseller-Autor Max Blumenthal mit ein. Reportagen wurde über die Demonstration zur Sicherheitskonferenz in München und über das Democracy in Europe movement 2025 in Berlin gedreht.  Verschiedenartigste Organisationen und ihre wertvolle Arbeit für unsere Gesellschaft wurden vorgestellt, darunter Human Connection, Fakeodernews, Shifthappens, Abgeordnetenwatch.de, Spreadwords.org, Kontext TV, Sanktionsfrei e.V., Green City e.V., das Institut für sozial-ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung e.V., Netzwerk Klimaherbst e.V., Oxfam Deutschland und Gemeinsam für Menschenrechte und Demokratie. Einige der erwähnten Projekte erschienen im Format “Der Funke”, eine bundesweite Plattform für gemeinnützige Vereine, die sich täglich für eine bessere Welt einsetzen.

Die prominentesten acTVism Munich Videos

Eine Zusammenfassung unserer Veranstaltung “Globale Themen im Kontext”

 Hinter den Kulissen unserer Veranstaltungen


Mission

  • Allen Menschen umfassende Informationen frei zugänglich zu machen
  • Durch Aufklärung gesellschaftliche Entscheidungsprozesse fördern
  • Unabhängige Medien miteinander vernetzen und stärken
  • Kooperative Strukturen schaffen

Vision

  • Multilinguales Onlinemedium werden
  • Vielfältige Sichtweisen darstellen
  • Investigative Projekte betreiben
  • Weltweites Netzwerk ausbauen
  • Tagesaktuelle Berichterstattung liefern
  • Kunst und Kultur stärker fokussieren
  • Finanzielle Unabhängigkeit sicherstellen