VIDEO: Yanis Varoufakis – The Origins of the European & Global Economic Crisis

Yanis Varoufakis talks acTVism Munich whether he thinks capitalism is reformable.

In this video, acTVism Munich interviews Yanis Varoufakis, a world renowned economist who was a former member of the Greek parliament. He gained immense popularity when he served as finance minister (27 January 2015 – 6 July 2015) for the Greek government, a post that he left shortly after he found out that Greek government made the decision to implement the austerity package of the Troika against the popular vote (OXI) of the Greek people . This interview focuses on the history of the global economic system, the transformations that it underwent after World War II and attempts to connect it to the current economic crisis that is sweeping throughout Europe and the globe.

  • Is there such a thing as a “Greek-crisis”?
  • Are pensions, social security benefits & high-wages the reasons why we are facing an economic downturn or are there underlying factors involved?
  • What is the history of the global capitalist system and how is it affecting states and individuals today?

These questions are answered in the video below.

Due to limited financial resources, personnel and technical capacities, we plan to release the entire interview in a “mini-video” format. As a non-profit & volunteer based organization, this format provides us with sufficient time to coordinate our schedules outside of our occupational commitments and translate the content into multiple languages, subtitle & voice-synchronize it for people with hearing & visual impairment.

Please assist us in the production and publishing process by donating:  Click here to donate!

VIDEO: Yanis Varoufakis – The Origins of the European & Global Economic Crisis

To view the full interview transcript, please click here.

acTVism Munich’s projects & videos planned for February 2016:

On the 9th of February 2016, acTVism Munich will be traveling to Berlin to document the launch of Yanis Varoufakis‘ movement known as Democracy in Europe Movement 25 (DiEM25) and to interview him again. We expect to release a video on DiEM25 on the 11th or 12th of February. Other projects in February include providing a voice to grassroots activism that will take place in Munich around the 52th Security Conference scheduled for the 12th-14th February. On 15th of February we will release an interview with Prof. Noam Chomsky, who will talk about the mainstream corporate media and how & why they undermine grassroots movements & activism.

Unfortunately, acTVism Munich has very limited funds and requires your immediate support to materialize these projects. From transportation, lodging, food, production, translation, and other costs, given our scarce resources, it will be a very difficult task to execute. Please support us today by donating via PayPal or Bank transfer: DONATE

  1. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff prior
    to and you are just too fantastic. I really like what you have obtained here,
    really like what you’re stating and the best way in which you are saying it.
    You are making it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it
    smart. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a
    wonderful site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

VIDEO: Yanis Varoufakis – Der Ursprung der Wirtschaftskrise in Europa und der Welt

Yanis Varoufakis talks acTVism Munich whether he thinks capitalism is reformable.

In diesem Video interviewt acTVism Munich Yanis Varoufakis, weltweit anerkannter Ökonom und ehemaliges Mitglied des griechischen Parlaments. Als Finanzminister im griechischen Parlament (27. Januar 2015 – 6. Juli 2015) erlangte er enorme Popularität. Er verließ den Posten jedoch, als er herausfand, dass die griechische Regierung sich dazu entschieden hatte, das Sparpaket der Troika zu implementieren – entgegen der Stimme der griechischen Volks, das mit überwältigender Mehrheit dagegen gestimmt hatte (OXI). Dieses Interview nimmt die Geschichte des globalen Wirtschaftssystems unter die Lupe sowie die Veränderungen, die es nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg durchlief und stellt die Verbindung zur aktuellen Wirtschaftskrise her, die über Europa und die Welt hinwegfegt.

  • Gibt es so etwas wie eine „Griechenlandkrise“?
  • Sind Renten, Sozialleistungen und hohe Löhne der Grund, weshalb wir einem wirtschaftlichen Rückgang entgegensehen oder spielen tiefer liegende Faktoren eine Rolle?
  • Was ist die Geschichte des globalen, kapitalistischen Systems? Wie beeinträchtigt es Staaten und Individuen heute?

Diese Fragen und mehr werden im folgenden Video beantwortet.

Aufgrund limitierter finanzieller Ressourcen, Personal- und technischer Kapazitäten, werden wir das gesamte Interview im Mini-Video-Format veröffentlichen. Wir sind eine gemeinnützige, von Freiwilligen abhängige Organisation. Dieses Format räumt uns genügend Zeit ein, um unsere Freizeit neben unseren berufsbedingten Verpflichtungen zu koordinieren und die Inhalte in verschiedene Sprachen zu übersetzen und mit Untertiteln und Synchronstimmen zu versehen – für Menschen mit Hör- & Sehschäden.

Bitte klicken sie hier, um uns mit einer Spende beim Produktionsprozess und der Veröffentlichungsarbeit zu unterstützen.


VIDEO: Yanis Varoufakis – Der Ursprung der Wirtschaftskrise in Europa und der Welt


Die vollständige Abschrift des Interviews finden sie hier. Transkript: Yanis Varoufakis: Der Ursprung der Wirtschaftskrise in Europa und der Welt 


acTVism Munichs geplannten Projekte & Videos für Febuar 2016:

Am 9. Februar 2016 wird acTVism Munich nach Berlin reisen, um den Start von Yanis Varoufakis Bewegung Democracy in Europe Movement 25 (DiEM25) zu dokumentieren und ihn ein weiteres Mal zu interviewen. Wir planen, ein Video über DiEM25 am 11. und 12. Februar zu veröffentlichen. Zudem stehen weitere Projekte im Februar an: wir werden den Aktivisten bei der 52. Sicherheitskonferenz vom 12. bis 14. Februar in München eine Stimme geben. Am 15. Februar veröffentlichen wir ein Interview mit Prof. Noam Chomsky, der mit uns über kommerzielle Mainstream-Medien sprach sowie darüber, wie und mit welchen Mitteln sie basisdemokratische Bewegungen und Aktivismus untergraben.

Leider verfügt acTVism Munich nur über sehr limitierte Geldmittel und benötigt Ihre unmittelbare Unterstützung, um diese Projekte wie geplant umzusetzen. Vom Transport über Unterkunft, Produktion, Übersetzung und weitere Kosten: Angesichts unserer knappen Ressourcen wird es enorm schwer, sämtliche Vorhaben zu realisieren. Bitte unterstützen Sie und heute, indem sie per PayPal oder Banküberweisung spenden: SPENDEN


RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
http://www.actvism.org/interviews/video-yanis-varoufakis-the-origins-of-the-european-global-economic-crisis/
Email
SHARE
  1. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff prior
    to and you are just too fantastic. I really like what you have obtained here,
    really like what you’re stating and the best way in which you are saying it.
    You are making it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it
    smart. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a
    wonderful site.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *