acTVism Report: Edward Snowden Event (Pictures & Videos)

Edward Snowden

acTVism Report: Edward Snowden Event in Munich


On January 15th, acTVism Munich organized its largest event yet that took place under the title “Freedom & Democracy – Global Issues in Context” at Muffathalle in Munich and featured a live interview with Edward Snowden via video conference from Russia as well as discussions with a panel of leading experts in the field. acTVism Munich’s founder and senior editor Zain Raza moderated the evening, leading the audience through a series of individual interviews with Srećko Horvat, Paul Jay, Richard D. Wolff, Jeremy Scahill and Jürgen Todenhöfer.


VIDEO: Edward Snowden Interview with acTVism – Part I – History of Intelligence Agencies


The evening commenced with an introductory speech by one of acTVism’s editors and board members,  Rees Jeannotte, followed by an interview with philosopher, activist and author, Srecko Horvat, who spoke about the relevance of social movements in the present and the role of the left while emphasizing the failure in addressing the working class and the need for idealism and hard work in equal measure. He continued to speak about the “Democracy in Europe Movement 2025” which he initiated in collaboration with Greece´s former finance minister, Yanis Varoufakis, in an effort to take Europe in a different direction based on “radical progressive internationalism”.

The senior editor of The Real News Network, Paul Jay, subsequently addressed the problems of corporate media control and the responsibility of the independent media to “go where the people are” in order to effect change. He elaborated on concrete cases in which the news is distorted and put special emphasis on the denial of global climate change, by referring to the present time as “the most decisive age in human existence”. Richard D. Wolff, professor of economics, author, and according to the New York Times “America’s most prominent Marxist economist”, talked about the significance and influence of Karl Marx while criticizing the general lack of the critical perspective in economic education. He proceeded to describe the flaws of the capitalist system and provided an alternative known as “work cooperatives” – a way of organizing production in which democracy plays a central role at the workplace.

Picture Gallery:


Jeremy Scahill, founding editor at The Intercept, was welcomed next to talk about the history and scope of the military-industrial complex. He commented on the “revolving door” behavior that exists between US government and the private sector as only “one aspect of the bipartisan nature of legalized corruption”. Further topics that were discussed encompassed Trump’s foreign policy, the Drone papers and the role of the German government in the War on Terror. Scahill criticized the German government  for its submissiveness towards U.S. influence in foreign policy matters. In describing the value and effectiveness of activist movements he stressed the need for “going into the streets” in order to bring about change.

Jürgen Todenhöfer, a German publisher, lawyer, former media manager and politician, discussed the problems in the Middle East in context with U.S. politics while claiming that Western countries pursued the policy of “destabilization”. He continued by supporting the diplomatic role of Germany in the Middle East that favored peace solutions. He underlined the fact that wars are never necessary and that politicians pay attention to public opinion and therefore encouraged the audience to speak up and take part in the political process, especially through social media.

The final interview of the evening with Edward Snowden covered the history of intelligence agencies, the influence of whistleblowers before him, the threat of having faith in elected leaders to resolve problems and the significance and responsibility of the people. In the spirit of civil disobedience, he remarked that at times the only moral choice was to break the law and that the expansion of human rights always started as a riot against orthodoxy. He proceeded to talk about the meaning of liberty as the fundamental right to act without permission. Concerning his personal situation in exile, he described the existing technological means as a source of hope that allowed him to communicate with people around the world.

The event ended with a short crowdfunding video produced by acTVism Munich.


VIDEO: acTVism Munich Crowdfunding


Click here or on the picture below to access our Crowdfunding Platform!

Ankündigung_FB_acTVism_BP


RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
http://www.actvism.org/en/events/actvism-reportage-edward-snowden-event-videos-bilder/
Email
SHARE

acTVism Reportage: Edward Snowden Event (Videos & Bilder)

Edward Snowden

acTVism Reportage: Edward Snowden Event in München


Am 15. Januar lud acTVism Munich zu seiner bisher größten Veranstaltung, die unter dem Titel „Freiheit & Demokratie – Globale Themen im Kontext“ in der Münchner Muffathalle stattfand. Dort gab es ein Live-Interview mit Edward Snowden via Videokonferenz aus Moskau und Diskussionen mit einem Panel führender Experten zu sehen. Zain Raza, der Gründer und leitende Redakteur von acTVism, führte als Moderator durch den Abend und präsentierte dem Publikum in einer Reihe von Einzelinterviews die Gäste Srećko Horvat, Paul Jay, Richard D. Wolff, Jeremy Scahill und Jürgen Todenhöfer.


VIDEO: acTVism-Interview mit Edward Snowden – Teil 1 – Die Geschichte der Geheimdienste


Nach der Eröffnung des Abends durch Rees Jeannotte, Redakteur und Vorstandsmitglied bei acTVism, sprach der Philosoph, Aktivist und Autor Srećko Horvat im ersten Interview der Veranstaltung über die Relevanz sozialer Bewegungen in der Gegenwart und die Rolle der Linken, während er gleichermaßen deren Versagen, die Arbeiterklasse anzusprechen, und den Bedarf von Idealismus und harter Arbeit hervorhob. Er sprach weiter über die „Bewegung Demokratie in Europa 2025“, die er in Zusammenarbeit mit Griechenlands ehemaligem Finanzminister Yanis Varoufakis ins Leben gerufen hat, um Europa basierend auf „radikalem, progressivem Internationalismus“ in eine andere Richtung zu führen.

Der leitende Redakteur von The Real News Network, Paul Jay, sprach danach über die Probleme der Kontrolle durch die Geschäftsmedien und die Verantwortung unabhängiger Medien, „dort hinzugehen, wo die Menschen sind,“ um einen Wandel zu bewirken. Er erwähnte konkrete Fälle, in denen Nachrichten verzerrt werden, und hob vor allem die Leugnung des globalen Klimawandels hervor, indem er auf die Gegenwart als „das entscheidendste Zeitalter der Menschheitsgeschichte“ verwies.

Richard D. Wolff, Professor für Ökonomie, Autor und der New York Times zufolge “Amerikas prominentester Marxistischer Ökonom,” sprach über die Signifikanz und den Einfluss von Karl Marx, während er den Mangel an kritischer Perspektive in der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Ausbildung kritisierte. Er ging auf die Schwachstellen des kapitalistischen Systems ein und präsentierte eine Alternative, die als „Arbeitskooperationen“ bekannt ist – eine Art der Produktionsorganisation, in der die Demokratie eine zentrale Rolle am Arbeitsplatz spielt.


BILDERGALERIE


Jeremy Scahill, Mitgründer von The Intercept, wurde im Anschluss begrüßt, um über die Entwicklung und Auswirkungen des militärisch-industriellen Komplexes zu sprechen. Er kommentierte die “Kreisel-Beziehungen”, die zwischen der U.S.-Regierung und dem privaten Sektor bestehen, als “nur eine Seite der überparteilichen Auswüchse legalisierter Korruption.”  Weitere Themen waren Trumps Außenpolitik, Enthüllungen zum Drohnenkrieg und die Rolle der deutschen Regierung im sogenannten Krieg gegen den Terror. Scahill kritisierte die deutsche Regierung für ihre Unterwürfigkeit gegenüber den USA bei außenpolitischen Fragen. Bei der Beschreibung der Bedeutung und Wirkung von Aktivismusbewegungen unterstrich er die Notwendigkeit, “auf die Straße zu gehen”, um Veränderungen zu bewirken.

Jürgen Todenhöfer, deutscher Publizist, Jurist und ehemaliger Bundestagsabgeordneter, sprach die Probleme im Mittleren Osten vor dem Hintergrund der US-Außenpolitik an und kritisierte die Tendenz westlicher Nationen, eine “Politik der Destabilisierung” zu verfolgen. Deutschland solle im Hinblick auf den Mittleren Osten eine Position einnehmen, die friedliche Lösungen anstrebt. Er unterstrich die Tatsache, dass Kriege niemals notwendig seien, und wies darauf hin, dass der Erfolg von Politikern von der öffentlichen Meinung abhänge, weshalb er die Zuhörer ermutigte, ihrer Stimme Gehör zu verschaffen und am politischen Prozess teilzuhaben, unterstützt durch die sozialen Medien.

Das letzte Interview des Abends wurde mit Edward Snowden geführt und thematisierte die Geschichte der Geheimdienste, den Einfluss von Whistleblowern vor ihm, die Gefahr, das Lösen von Problemen gewählten Vertretern zu überlassen, sowie den Stellenwert und die Verantwortung jedes Einzelnen. Im Geiste zivilen Ungehorsams erklärte er, dass unter bestimmten Umständen die einzig moralisch zulässige Entscheidung diejenige sei, das Gesetz zu brechen, und dass die Ausweitung von Menschenrechten schon immer das Resultat eines Aufbegehrens gegen den Status Quo gewesen sei. Er sprach auch über das Verständnis von Freiheit als das grundlegende Recht, ohne Erlaubnis zu handeln. Auf seinen persönlichen Alltag im Exil angesprochen, beschreibt er die technologischen Mittel als eine Quelle der Hoffnung, weil sie es ihm ermöglichen, mit Menschen auf der ganzen Welt zu kommunizieren.

Abgeschlossen wurde die Veranstaltung mit einem Crowdfunding-Video, das von acTVism Munich selbst produziert worden war.


VIDEO: acTVism Munich Crowdfunding


Klicken Sie hier oder auf das Bild, um unsere Crowdfunding-Kampagne zu unterstützen!

Ankündigung_FB_acTVism_BP


RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
http://www.actvism.org/events/actvism-reportage-edward-snowden-event-videos-bilder/
Email
SHARE